Cultuurhuis Amare

Martha Nussbaum laureate Spinozalens 2022

Michel Foucault laureate of 2021
Next year, the American philosopher Martha Nussbaum will be honored with the Spinozalens 2022. This was announced on 24 November 2021 by Prof. Jet Bussemaker, chairwoman of the jury and former Dutch Minister of Education, Culture, and Science. Nussbaum will be honored for her contribution to ethical reflections on the theme of health, risk, and society. As always, the members of the Spinozalens jury also chose to honor a historical thinker as a laureate for 2021: the French philosopher Michel Foucault. He will be honored with educational material, which will be released at the beginning of 2022.

Read more »

Spinozalens 2020 awarded to French philosopher Bruno Latour

On the 21st of November the International Spinozaprijs Foundation announced the laureates for 2019-2020. The French philosopher and sociologist Bruno Latour (1949) will receive the Spinozalens 2020 on November 24, 2020. British mathematician Alan Turing (1912-1954) will be honoured with an educational brochure for secondary education. The Foundation revealed the two laureates’ names during a meeting in the official residence of the mayor of Amsterdam.

Read more »