Bruno Latour dies aged 75

The evening of 8th to 9th October saw the passing of Bruno Latour, Spinozaprijs Laureate 2020. The board of the Stichting Internationale Spinozaprijs mourns the death of this eminent thinker and commends his commitment during the run-up to the ceremony in November 2020. In spite of his illness, he inspired 800 viewers with his online […]

Martha Nussbaum laureate Spinozalens 2022

Cultuurhuis Amare

Michel Foucault laureate of 2021
Next year, the American philosopher Martha Nussbaum will be honored with the Spinozalens 2022. This was announced on 24 November 2021 by Prof. Jet Bussemaker, chairwoman of the jury and former Dutch Minister of Education, Culture, and Science. Nussbaum will be honored for her contribution to ethical reflections on the theme of health, risk, and society. As always, the members of the Spinozalens jury also chose to honor a historical thinker as a laureate for 2021: the French philosopher Michel Foucault. He will be honored with educational material, which will be released at the beginning of 2022.

Spinozalens 2020 awarded to French philosopher Bruno Latour

On the 21st of November the International Spinozaprijs Foundation announced the laureates for 2019-2020. The French philosopher and sociologist Bruno Latour (1949) will receive the Spinozalens 2020 on November 24, 2020. British mathematician Alan Turing (1912-1954) will be honoured with an educational brochure for secondary education. The Foundation revealed the two laureates’ names during a meeting in the official residence of the mayor of Amsterdam.

Bruno Latour Lecture and Spinozalens 2020 award ceremony

On November 23rd 2020, Spinozalens laureate Bruno Latour will give a live-streamed lecture for Radboud Reflects. The following day Femke Halsema, the Mayor of Amsterdam, will award Latour the Spinozalens 2020 in an online ceremony. Both events will be available to watch on YouTube.   Within the context of the Spinozalens 2020, Bruno Latour will give a lecture […]